I think it would be reasonable to include a message to the player, when they die and clone out on a new splinter, that their character will not remember anything past their most recent update, to keep people from metagaming and/or assuming that they remember everything leading up to their death.
It could also be handy to include it in the helpfile for splintering, as currently it's only mentioned in the wiki. This should, ideally, be in addition to the message when you clone out, as not everybody is going to read helpfiles or wiki pages.